Zits: Chillax (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Zits: Chillax Cover Image
By Jerry Scott, Jim Borgman (Illustrator)
$9.99
Available to Order - Usually Arrives in Our Store in 4 to 7 Days

Staff Reviews


Zits Chillax
by Jerry Scott and Jim Borgman is in a league of it's own. This is the
first  book I've ever read that I consider a perfect YA beach read for
guys, though there's no reason everyone wouldn't love it- from reluctant
 to  speedy readers-  it's style and illustrations keep you reading.
   All the characters you love in the Zits comic strip are here in  their lovable goofiness but even better.  
Jeremy's bandmate Tim's mother has been diagnosed with cancer. Instead
of dragging the plot down this generates support, positive action and
rallying from the whole gang.
   Wouldn't it be great if everyone who read this book was motivated to help a sick friend in some caring way? Now hold that thought- but don't blame me if you laugh out loud as you read along.  
Somehow Jerry Scott and Jim Borgman combine the serious subject of
cancer with the humor of well-meaning, hormonal teenagers that results
in a feel-good book that is better than the sum of it's parts.
   For all those teens out there that are tired of vampires and dystopian angst- or who just want a break from it." ~Jocelyn

— Jocelyn is one of our top children's book experts at Tattered Cover

Description


Zits jumps from the comics page to the bookshelf, and Zits: Chillax is perfect for fans of James Patterson's Homeroom Diaries as well as the Zits comic strip!

Jeremy Duncan, future rock god, is going to his first real rock concert (Gingivitis rules!) without his parents (hallelujah!) and with a mission in mind. It'll be an epic night he'll never forget.

Comics genius Stan Lee calls Zits "a comedic masterpiece."

Featuring black-and-white illustrations on every page, Zits: Chillax is based on the hit syndicated comic strip.

About the Author


Jerry Scott has been a professional cartoonist (aka getting paid to do a comic strip) for almost thirty years, and has been the corecipient of the National Cartoonists Society's Best Comic Strip of the Year honor four times. Sweet! In 1997 (the nineties rock!), and along with the artistic genius of Jim Borgman, Zits the comic strip was born. Jerry is a total overachiever, the recipient of many prestigious awards, which are too numerous and we're too lazy to list—just trust us, he's awesome. He's currently livin' the dream in California with his family.



Jim Borgman has been a cartoonist since kindergarten. An overachiever like Jerry, he has been voted the Best Editorial Cartoonist in America five times (whoa!), been the corecipient (with Jerry) of the Best Comic Strip of the Year Award three times, and he's won most of the top cartooning awards ever presented. Jim's cartoons have hung in some pretty serious places, like the Smithsonian, the National Archives, and various presidential libraries—and above the president of the United States' personal toilet (okay, that one's pretty cool). Jim lives in Colorado with his family.

Praise For…


“Zits is a comedic masterpiece!”
— Stan Lee

“Zits is plugged in and ready to rock!”
— Lincoln Peirce, author of the New York Times bestselling Big Nate Series

“An engaging and fast read. A great recommendation for kids who have graduated from “Diary of a Wimpy Kid.”
— School Library Journal

“This is crazy fun all around, with just the right degree of seriousness to anchor the levity. Fans of Zits can rejoice in this new direction.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Well-executed, clean fun with a heart.”
— Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062228512
ISBN-10: 006222851X
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: May 21st, 2013
Pages: 256
Language: English
Series: Zits