The Rapture Index: A Suburban Bestiary (American Reader #32) (Paperback)

The Rapture Index: A Suburban Bestiary (American Reader #32) Cover Image
$17.00
On Our Shelves Now
Tattered Cover Book Store Colfax Ave
3 on hand, as of Oct 21 8:30am
(FIC GEN)
Tattered Cover Book Store Historic LoDo
13 on hand, as of Oct 21 8:30am
(FIC GEN)
Tattered Cover Book Store Aspen Grove
1 on hand, as of Oct 21 8:30am
(FIC GEN)

Description


"Thought-provoking, unthinkable, and fun, Reid's debut is perfect for fans of David Lynch, Alissa Nutting, and George Saunders."--Booklist

Loosely based on the medieval bestiary, The Rapture Index examines the relationship between animals, humans, and storytelling. Harnessing the bestiary's combination of religious parable, encyclopedia, and artifice, Molly Reid journeys deep into suburbia to reveal characters struggling to fulfill the expectations of society and family while indulging their baser desires. Filled with moments of curiosity, misunderstanding, fervor, and heart, these stories offer a new twist on familiar landscapes where the wilderness has been tamed (sometimes just barely) but our own animal nature cannot be.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781942683827
ISBN-10: 1942683820
Publisher: BOA Editions
Publication Date: May 14th, 2019
Pages: 227
Language: English
Series: American Reader